Love for the lost

Today my heart is breaking.

My heart breaks for those family members and friends who once knew the Truth, but who have been confused by the world’s doctrines.  My heart breaks for those who willfully reject Jesus Christ as the Lover of their hearts and souls.

My heart breaks, because other than praying for them, there is nothing I can do to make them see that Jesus, Who suffered, died and rose for their sakes, longs to be their Saviour, Father and Friend.

Some of these people were taught in Christian ways, and some once confessed Jesus as their Saviour.  Some people have simply never heard the complete gospel.  Which is worse?  The fact is that our choices have consequences, and whether we choose for or against believing in Jesus Christ as Saviour, the consequences are eternal.

I wish I could show these people how much they are loved by their Creator.  I wish I could make them experience the compassion I have felt, being comforted by my LORD when I am in despair, crying out to Him in prayer.

There have been times when I have desperately cried, realizing the greatness of my sin and my own inability to overcome the darkness in my heart, half expecting Him to reprove me with some Scripture about how I should be living for Him.  At least twice, I have experienced a compassionate Friend, comforting me in these moments with the greatness of His unending love.  Without thinking it out, I have visualized Jesus walking to me and sitting next to me in my brokenness, His arm around my shoulder, showing me His incredible mercy and grace when I’ve been whipping myself on the back about my sins.

Psalm 103:8-14
The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in mercy.  He will not always chide: neither will He keep his anger for ever.  He hath not dealt with us after our sins; nor rewarded us according to our iniquities.  For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is His mercy toward them that fear Him.  As far as the east is from the west, so far hath He removed our transgressions from us.  Like as a father pitieth his children, so the LORD pitieth them that fear Him.  For He knoweth our frame; He remembereth that we are dust.

My heart breaks to see loved ones rejecting such an amazingly loving Saviour, not only because I deeply love Jesus, but because I truly love these family members and friends.

It is days like today when I have to remind myself that, just as God drew me to Himself in a most gentle way many years ago (and He still does!), so He is drawing each person to Him every day.  Sometimes, our hearts are hardened by our own reasoning, being blinded by a lack of understanding of what happens in our lives.  Yet, His love continues to call out to us to draw us closer to Him, never differentiating between the individuals that He lovingly created.  (Ephesians 1:16-23, Acts 10:34-35, John 12:37-40, 2 Corinthians 3:12-4:6)

No matter how much we love somebody here on earth, God loves them much, much more.

As I continue to pray for my unsaved friends and family, I thank God that nothing can separate us from His love, the love that He demonstrated to us when Jesus Christ willingly sacrificed His life on the cross and overcame death to make a way back to our Holy Father.

May we never forget that others will know God’s love by the way we love them.  (John 13:35, 1 John 4:11-12)

Finally, may we always have compassion for those who are still lost, knowing that the only reason why we can love, is because God first loved us and gave His life to save us while we were yet sinners.  (1 John 4:19, Romans 5:8)

Romans 8:35-39
Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, r famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?  As it is written, “For Thy sake we are killed all the day long;  we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”  Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us.  For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Ephesians 3:17-19
That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith;  that ye, being rooted and grounded in love may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;  and to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fullness of God.

John 3:16-17
“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.” ~ Jesus Christ

How deep the Father’s love for us

Leave a Reply

