A Christmas letter from Jesus

INVITATION!

As you know, My birthday celebration is nearing.*  Each year, there’s a celebration in My honour, and this year the celebration will be repeated.  During this time, people are looking for many gifts, there are many radio announcements and advertisements, and in each part of the country all the people are talking about My birthday that’s approaching.  It is nice to know that, at least once a year, some people think of Me.

The celebration of My birthday started many years ago.  In the beginning people were grateful and they understood what I had done for them, but now it seems like few people has any understanding of what is celebrated.  Family and friends gather and enjoy the time immensely, but they don’t know the reason for the celebration.  (Matthew 1:18-2:12, Luke 2:1-39)

I remember, last year, there was a celebration in My honour.  The tables were spread with wonderful food and drinks.  The decorations were fantastic and there were heaps of wrapped gifts.  But, do you know what? – I was not invited!  I was the Guest of honour, but nobody remembered to send an invitation to Me!  The celebration was for Me, but when the wonderful day arrived, I was left outside – the door was closed in My face…  I longed to be with them and to share in their table.  The truth is that the past couple of years, most people had closed the door to Me.

Because I wasn’t invited, I decided to join in the celebration without making a sound.  I softly slipped in, and stood in one corner.  Everybody drank, some were drunk and told jokes and laughed about everything.  They had a good time.  To crown it all, a big, fat man dressed in red with a long, white beard, entered the room and everyone shouted, “Ho, ho, ho!”  He looked drunk.  He sat on the couch and all the children ran to him, shouting, “santa claus! santa claus!” – as if the celebration was in his honour.

By midnight, everyone hugged each other.  I also held out My arms and waited for someone to hug Me – but nobody did.  Everyone started handing out gifts.  They opened it with great expectation.  When all the gifts were opened, I looked to see if there was anything for Me.  But they had forgotten about Me.  When I realized that I was unwelcome, I softly left…

Everyone remembers the party, the gifts and the food, but nobody remembers Me.  This Christmas, I’d love it if you would allow Me to be part of your life.  I’d love it if you would realize that I laid My life down for you on the Cross 2000 years ago, to save your life!  (John 3:16)

Today, I am sending out the invitations, and there’s an invitation for you!  I’d like to know if you would like to attend the celebration, because then I will reserve a place for you and write your name with golden letters in My guest book.  (John 14:1-6, Revelation 3:5)  Only those whose names are written in My guest book, will be allowed in;  those who do not answer the invitation… will also be left outside.  (Matthew 22:1-14, Matthew 25:1-13)

Be ready, because as soon as everything is ready, those who have accepted the invitation, will share in My party.  (Revelation 19:9)

See you soon.  I love you.  (John 15:12, 1 John 4:19)

JESUS.

* Although we know that Jesus was not born on the 25th of December, we do celebrate His birth on this day.  We are not celebrating a date, but the event where the God Who created all things, made Himself small and lived on earth as one of us in order to bring eternal salvation to all who believe in Him and His amazing sacrificial love.

Leave a Reply

