Soos die klei / Like the clay

Gladly sharing the lyrics of an Afrikaans Children’s song with you:

Soos die klei in die hand van die pottebakker
So is ek en U hand, o Heer

Soos die klei in die hand van die pottebakker
So maak U my ‘n beeld tot U eer

Vorm my, Here God,
vorm my en vou my al kry ek seer
Vorm my, Here God,
U weet hoe U my wil hê, o Heer

Like the clay in the hand of the potter
So am I in Your hand, o Lord
Like the clay in the hand of the potter
You’re making me into an image to Your honour

Shape me, Lord God,
shape me and mold me although it’s sore
Shape me, Lord God
You know how You want me to be, o Lord

~ Traditional Afrikaans song ~

Isaiah 64:8 
“But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.”

Jeremiah 18:2-6 
“Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words.  Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels.  And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it.  Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying,  O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the LORD. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel.”

Leave a Reply

