Give me Your eyes…

Looked down from a broken sky
Traced out by the city lights
My world from a mile high
Best seat in the house tonight
Touched down on the cold black tar
Hold on for the sudden stop
Breathe in the familiar shock
Of confusion and chaos

All those people goin’ somewhere
Why have I never cared?

Give me Your eyes for just one second
Give me Your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me Your love for humanity
Give me Your arms for the broken-hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me Your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me Your eyes so I can see

Step out on a busy street
See a girl and our eyes meet
Does her best to smile at me
To hide what’s underneath
There’s a man just to her right
Black suit and a bright red tie
Too ashamed to tell his wife
He’s out of work, he’s buyin’ time

All those people goin’ somewhere
Why have I never cared?

Chorus

I’ve been there a million times
A couple of million eyes
Just move and pass me by
I swear I never thought that I was wrong
Well I want a second glance
So give me a second chance
To see the way You’ve seen the people all along

Chorus

~ Performed by:  Brandon Heath (2008)
Written by:  Brandon Heath & Jason Ingram~

“‘Give Me Your Eyes’ is a song about my own convictions for wanting to see the world with compassionate eyes.” – Brandon Heath

Revelation 3:17-19
“Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:  I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see.  As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.”

Matthew 9:27-30
“And when Jesus departed thence, two blind men followed Him, crying, and saying, “Thou Son of David, have mercy on us.”  And when He was come into the house, the blind men came to Him: and Jesus saith unto them, “Believe ye that I am able to do this?”  They said unto Him, “Yea, Lord.”  Then touched He their eyes, saying, “According to your faith be it unto you.”  And their eyes were opened…”

Matthew 20:29
“And as they departed from Jericho, a great multitude followed Him.  And, behold, two blind men sitting by the way side, when they heard that Jesus passed by, cried out, saying, “Have mercy on us, O Lord, thou Son of David.”  And the multitude rebuked them, because they should hold their peace: but they cried the more, saying, “Have mercy on us, O Lord, thou Son of David.”  And Jesus stood still, and called them, and said, “What will ye that I shall do unto you?”  They say unto Him, “Lord, that our eyes may be opened.”  So Jesus had compassion on them, and touched their eyes: and immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed Him.”

One thought on “Give me Your eyes…

  1. Pingback: Dove’s Eyes | Blessed Beyond Measure

Leave a Reply

