Whatever it takes

There’s a Voice calling me from an old rugged tree
and It whispers, “Draw closer to Me;
Leave this world far behind – there are new heights to climb
And a new place in Me you will find.”

For whatever it takes to draw closer to You, LORD –
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.
For whatever it takes to be more like You,
LORD, t
hat’s what I’ll be willing to do.

Take the dearest thing to me if that’s how it must be
To draw me closer to You.
Let the disappointments come, lonely days without the sun
If through sorrows more like You I’ll become.

For whatever it takes to draw closer to You, LORD –
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.
For whatever it takes for my will to break,
LORD, t
hat’s what I’ll be willing to do.

Take my houses and my lands, change my dreams and my plans
For I’m placing my whole life in Your Hand.
And when you call me some day to my Home far away,
LORD, I’ll go and Your will obey.

Bridge:
I’ll trade sunshine for rain
I’ll trade comfort for pain
That’s what I’ll be willing to do
For whatever it takes for my will to break, LORD,
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.

~ Performed by Lanny Wolfe (1975)

Leave a Reply

